Skip to content
Westwood results

Stunning furnished west LA bedroom w/ lovely yard

Ad details

Message

Ad reference no. 102432783

• Please read FULL description before inquiring •

This is a golden opportunity for a lease takeover on the Westside at an unbeatable rate for the space, layout, amenities, furnishing, perks and overall ease being offered. This fully equipped apartment feels like a craftsman oasis… a peaceful sanctuary which has seen lots of love and labor poured into it over the past few years. Although it has been a great joy of mine to live, create and heal here, I am looking for the right fit to embrace this nest, which is so very near and dear to my heart. I am a Mauritanian, French, Ivorian vintage and contemporary furniture dealer, as well as a multidisciplinary artist, who has been living in LA for 14 years and called this place home for the past 3 years or so. I have a good rapport with my landlady who is an approachable and compassionate individual. She is reasonable and laidback in her approach to things so long as she knows her property to be well maintained by tenants. READ below:

Whoever replaces me will not only have it all to him / her / themselves more often than not, they’ll be in the position to benefit from the sweet arbitrage enabled by quality furnishing and pay a minimal fee of roughly $500 per month + utilities. It’s unheard of for any and all area of LA and more especially Westwood which is statistically and realistically one of the safest neighborhoods in the greater metropolitan area. One can go for a walk up the hill at 1 am without any anxiety. It is quiet and houses mostly families, many professionals, some students and the retired / elderly. It is pet friendly with plenty of folks walking their doggos throughout the day. Needless to say that pets are welcome. I have two dogs myself and they’ve been spoiled with the yard. If you are a pet parent, they’ll have plenty of room to play and it won’t be an issue with the owner. My roommates are very active professionals, as well as frequent travelers. One is a young neurologist completing his fellowship at UCLA and committed to playing soccer in his spare time. The other is a corporate chef by day and a real estate agent when “off” work. They are busy bees, often out of the house and coming home only to recharge. Both are neat, courteous, and good communicators.

The atmosphere is very chill and tolerant but this is not a party house. It is a restful abode. Looking for someone on the same page who will be respectful of the space and current dynamic. This could be the dream scenario for a couple looking to start a family as both roommates will be vacating within the next year. Upon their departure, the home will be yours to do as you please and various scenarios will be available to you then. You could either bring in new roommates of your choice to replace current ones as they move on with their lives and therefore continue to amortize your monthly rent to incur minimal expenses, or you could split the home with another couple / single tenant to repurpose one of the bedrooms as a home studio or private office. Of course, you could also keep the entire unit to yourself. There is the potential of a perfect long term plan for a couple looking to grow as a family in the coming years. As I am the leaseholder, the lease would be transferred to you and you’d take possession of the unit with the option to sublet or not. It is fine as long as you run this by the landlady.

Terms are as follows:

Looking to pass along this lovely space fully furnished for, as much as I have spent time thoughtfully curating it, I won’t be able to take loads of belongings with me. I also cannot spend much time getting rid of stuff. Embarking on a new path and my window to prepare for this major transition is small. I am moving out of state and am currently in New York with my partner. The plan is for me to return later this spring, pack what I’ll initially take with me, store what will be shipped, donate the rest, get a new tenant to settle in and work out all the details with my landlady before I relocate. The place will be handed over as is with the exception of a few things such as my painting, book and ceramic collections, all of which will be clearly identified, itemized and agreed upon in advance. The large majority of indoor and outdoor plants will stay. A select few will be given to friends. I basically need for the right prospective tenant to buy me out and simultaneously make their way into this fantastic gem.

Current deposit will be transferred to your name as well as the responsibilities attached with it. I will be forfeiting my share of it to apply towards any move-out repairs down the line. You will be taking possession of the unit and will be managing the space in good faith, becoming the main point of contact for the owner regarding maintenance and other such matters. You will be collecting rent from sublets and paying the lump sum to the owner. You will also be in charge of managing bills. Electric and gas are charged every other month. Water and Wi-Fi are charged every month. We can cover that part later. As stated above, I am currently in New York but can arrange for a showing ahead of getting back in town. In the meantime, I can hop on FaceTime, text or share pictures and videos of the space with you. I have plenty of them. Spacious 1 bedroom pads with yard access and dedicated parking spots go for an average of $3500 in this area, without utilities, and move in cost typically involve one month of rent as deposit. Keyword is spacious. This place is massive and comes with a 2 cars garage plus 1 additional parking space. More on that below. I encourage you to do your own research for comparables prior to reaching out to me. It sure will be a great challenge to find any close match, if at all, and not solely in Westwood but in all of LA, South Bay, Orange County… you name it.

This is an undeniably bespoke and unique opportunity so I would prefer applicants who truly understand the value of that which they might have the great fortune to be getting into if they have an interest in it. No spams or low ballers. I won’t entertain that. There is a fair amount of logistic involved on my end given that I am away from home at the moment. I do not have time to waste with debating and negotiating. Doing my best to provide as much information as possible upfront so you can get a clear picture. Know or familiarize yourself with the current rental market to have a sincere appreciation for this absolute deal and one-of-a kind urban pad with suburb feel. If things align, I am looking to receive 2 months of rent for the price of a nice, large and bright one bedroom in a residential area with outdoor space and easy access to the freeway. In other words, I am asking $7000 as a move in fee + $3000 for indoor and outdoor furniture, home decor, plants, linen, kitchen supplies, electronics, appliances, etc. What you get: a steal and a flexible arrangement. I expect an initial payment of $7000 with the remainder to be split however suits you best, so long as I am made whole within 30 days of you moving into the unit. The bedroom is available coming March 16. Pay 10k for lease transfer and furnishing, after which you’ll be living there for roughly $500 - $750 a month depending on utility cost, for however long current roommates stay. The caveat is for their respective timelines and needs to be respected and honored by you. They are not to be requested to vacate in a rush or pushed out by way of unpleasant behaviors. They are kind but outspoken and won’t allow disrespect. Besides, they’ve always been gracious towards me and I - explicitly - don’t want their living situation to be compromised or disturbed in any way before they are ready. My only other demand is with regards to retaining access to the garage until July so I can clear it. So far it has been used as a storage unit and is still packed with furnishing. Once emptied, you will have a 2 cars garage with ample storage space. My latest CL ad for my bedroom sublet is listed below, with details about the apartment and neighborhood:

_______

Furnished stylish bedroom w/ lovely yard in West LA 🏡

(credit check required)

Hi there,

A gorgeous fully furnished master bedroom is coming available in west LA on March 15th. If you feel you’d make a good fit, I’d love to hear from you! I’d appreciate it if you could include a brief description of yourself, as well as links to your preferred social media outlets; always good to have!

It is the lower unit of a stand-alone townhouse with tremendous character and countless original craftsman details. The layout features a bonus carpeted sun-lit den with large bay windows right by the dining area, a nice gas fireplace, beautifully aged hardwood floors throughout, front and back entrances as well as a spacious eat-in kitchen and on-site laundry area. It also offers a generous front yard decked with outdoor seatings, a built-in bbq grill and a potted succulent garden. The bedroom is outfitted with linen, a large desk and an oversized lounge chair. Luckily, street parking is a non-issue. No permits needed and lots of spots available.

This property is nested in a residential pocket of upper Fairburn neighborhood, conveniently located near UCLA village. It’s ideal for folks commuting to Century City, Beverly Hills, Pico Robertson, Culver City, Sawtelle, Westwood, Brentwood or Santa Monica, for work and recreational activities. Miracle Mile, Playa Vista, Marina del rey and Venice beach are also easily accessible from here. The unit is within a short distance from several parks and yummy restaurants; plenty of options to keep your tummy happy around here. The MDR farmer’s market is also well worth a visit on Saturdays. There are 3 or 4 other local farmer’s markets happenings on different days of the week in Brentwood, Westwood and Santa Monica. All are pretty awesome. Over here you’ll be near grocery stores, pharmacies and vets, auto care, fitness centers, museums, theaters, beauty bars, spas, libraries, banks, gas stations, yoga and dance studios, pressed juiceries, coffee shops, bakeries and ice cream parlors. Reach out with any question.

Blessings 🌿

  • Apartment share
  • Westwood
  • 90024
View on map
$700 monthly
large

Availability

Available
Now
Minimum term
None
Maximum term
None

Extra cost

Deposit
$0.00
Utilities included?
Some
Fees apply?
Yes

Amenities

Furnishings
Furnished
Parking
Yes
Garage
Yes
Garden/terrace
Yes
Balcony/patio
No
Disabled access
No
Living room
shared
Broadband included
Yes

Current household

# roommates
2
Total # rooms
3
Ages
30 to 40
Smoker?
No
Any pets?
No
Language
English
Occupation
Professionals
Gender
2 Males

New roommate preferences

Couples OK?
Yes
Smoking OK?
Yes
Pets OK?
Yes
Occupation
Don't mind
References?
Yes
Min age
26
Max age
46
Gender
No preference

Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week to keep quality high. Please help us with our job and let us know if there is a problem with this ad. For example, if

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
  • The ad is generic rather than for a specific available room
  • The advertiser is not a former roommate

Register for FREE

Register via email

Register for FREE

Register via email