Skip to content

Sunset Park results

1 large room for rent in 4-bed, 2-bath apartment

Ad ref# 100068002

1 large room for rent in a 4-bed, 2-bath apartment. Room is for one person only.

A little about the household: we are all females in our late 20s to 30s (Chinese-American, Japanese-American and Costa Rican-American). We are a Spanish teacher, social worker and artist assistant. Some of us are currently working from home. Due to covid concerns, we tend to keep to ourselves, but hopefully that will change once things get back to normal. We are generally pretty laid back, but serious about the cleanliness of common areas (also a no-outside-shoes household).

The apartment is located less than a block away from the 59th Street subway station in Brooklyn with N (express) and R (local) trains-- 30 mins to lower Manhattan (Canal Street), 40 mins to Times Square.

Laundromat is a block away. Several restaurants, delis, supermarkets and post office within a 2-block radius.

The room is around 100 sq ft, faces the backyard, and has 1 window. It has a built-in closet, and also fits up to a queen size bed, desk and bookshelf.

The kitchen has the essentials, such as a dining table, chairs, microwave, stove, fridge.

Internet is included in rent. Utilities are NOT included. Utilities average $50 a month (gas, electricity).

We are looking for CLEAN individuals that can pick up after themselves and can share household chores, such as cleaning the bathroom and kitchen. We will ask you to move out if we discover later on that you are messy/dirty. The ideal roommate should be respectful of our common living areas, does not bring home random strangers/people, and is quiet during appropriate hours.

I get asked a lot about the issue of overcrowding at the apt since there are 4 bedrooms, so I'll answer it here. Yes, there are 4 bedrooms, but there are also 2 bathrooms, so with a human: bathroom ratio of 2:1 (and you can always use the other bathroom if the one you normally use is occupied), it's never been a problem. In terms of kitchen usage, we cook at different times just because our schedules aren't the same and we don't cook elaborate meals, so that is usually not an issue with us. Also, each person gets their own pantry in the kitchen (check out the kitchen photos) so storage also isn't an issue. In addition, there is a living room situated in the middle of the apt, with 2 bedrooms and a bathroom to either side of it. Lastly, there are two entrances to the apt, also one on either side of the living room, so you don't actually see two of the roommates that much due to this layout.

A government-issued ID, social security number and proof of income (W2 or 4 pay stubs) are required prior to signing the lease. To move in, you'd need first month rent and one month deposit. You will get your deposit back if your room is not damaged in any way when you move out. Rent is due on 25th of every month.

Please respond to this post if interested. Tell me a little about yourself and your availability for viewing. I will be showing the room this week, virtual-viewing preferred though in-person can be arranged as well. I apologize in advance if I don't get to everyone due to the volume of incoming requests. Thank you.

  • Apartment share
  • Sunset Park
  • 11220
  • 59 St Station
    0-5 minutes walk away
  • $830 monthly (large)

Availability

Available
Now
Minimum term
12 months
Maximum term
None

Extra cost

Deposit
$830.00
Utilities included?
Some

Amenities

Furnishings
Unfurnished
Disabled access
Living room
shared
Broadband included
Yes

Current household

# roommates
3
Total # rooms
5
Ages
27 to 38
Smoker?
No
Any pets?
No
Language
English
Nationality
Chinese
Occupation
Professional
Interests
travelling, design, cleaning, eating, restaurants, computers, technology, sleeping, rock climbing
Gender
3 Females

New roommate preferences

Couples OK?
No
Smoking OK?
No
Pets OK?
No
Occupation
Don't mind
References?
Yes
Min age
25
Max age
40
Gender
Female preferred

Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and if there is any problem with this ad, for example:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
  • The ad is generic rather than for a specific available room
  • The advertiser is not a current roommate
User profile icon
Unknown
Joined SpareRoom because:

Register for FREE

Register via email

Register for FREE

Register via email