Astoria results

Seeking Roommate for Quiet 2 BR Apt in Astoria

Ad ref# 100088212

zoom
Bedroom, from doorway (current set up)

The Basics:
Private room in a quiet, spacious 2 bedroom apartment in an elevator-building in Astoria, off of the Broadway stop on the N/Q train lines (6-7 min walk). We are also accessible by R/M at Steinway (12-15 min walk or 5 min bus) and F train at 21st/Queensbridge (5-10 min by bus).

Available for move in starting 5/15/19 (a little earlier is possible). Rent for the room is $1375, which includes heat & hot water. Internet + Gas/Electric will cost an additional $50-75 per month depending on usage.

Bedroom is unfurnished but can accommodate a full sized bed (queen is possible but might be a squeeze) as well as a desk, dresser, etc -- the room is narrow but very long (roughly 18'x 8'). In the pictures, the first 4 are of the bedroom even though there are different setups (pics from current and former roommates). There is an AC in the room, hardwood floors, 2 overhead lights, one closet. If you prefer furnished, we can make that happen for +$100/mo for 3-6 month lease, less for longer lease.

Communal spaces include the bathroom, living room/dining room area, and kitchen, which has stainless steel appliances (including dishwasher) and granite counter top looking into the dining area. Currently, we split cleaning duties every week and have a professional cleaning person come in once month (the cost of which we split 3 ways).

Laundry is in basement of building or down the block for drop-off service.

Sublease term will be from move in date through 8/31/19, with the option to extend when we sign our next lease from 9/1/19 - 8/31/20. Unless the landlords raise the rent some insane amount, we do plan on staying in the apartment. Asking for 1st month's rent plus one month refundable security deposit for move-in.

Pet Policy: No cats (allergic), but would consider allowing someone with up to 2 small/medium, well-trained dogs (for our purposes, medium = 55 lbs or less; if more than one dog, combined weight of dogs not to exceed 55 lbs) - additional non-refundable pet deposit required ($300 for 1 dog, $500 for 2).

Wanted: Responsible adult, non smoker, who is respectful of the space and doesn't bring the party home. Would prefer someone who has a tendency towards conservation rather than consumption (turning off lights when not in use, using reusable shopping bags whenever possible, reducing waste whenever possible). We are trying to be better about this and it would be helpful if our roommate was like-minded in this manner. Also: our ideal roommate would like dogs - there is a chance we may get one within the next year.

About us: Loving couple, together 3.5 years, married almost 2 years. We travel as much as we can - like to use weekends to get away from the city so you'll have the run of the place from time to time. One of us works somewhat regular hours, the other one has a more erratic work schedule and sometimes works from home. We are both from arts backgrounds, both love to create things, and we would love to have a roommate who we can talk to and hang out with, but we will also easily be able to give you your space. You may be wondering why a married couple needs or wants a roommate - our reason is primarily that we would rather spend less money on rent and share a space for another year or so, and either save that money for the future or for travel. There is a lot more bang for your buck in a 2 BR in Astoria than there is for a one BR.

If you're interested, please reach out to us with a little bit about yourself, why you're looking for a new place, and how long you think you'll stick around.

Available to show the place starting Sunday May 5th.

Please note: this room is only open to one renter. We cannot offer it to a couple because the apartment will feel too cramped with 4 residents, not to mention the issue of a single bathroom.

Best,
Haj & Alex

  • Apartment share
  • Astoria
  • 11106
  • 30 Av Station
    (5-10 minutes walk)
  • $1,375 monthly (large)

Availability

Available
Now
Minimum term
3 months
Maximum term
12 months

Extra cost

Deposit
$1,375.00
Utilities included?
Some
Fees apply?
No

Amenities

Furnishings
Furnished
Parking
No
Garage
No
Garden/terrace
No
Balcony/Patio
No
Disabled access
No
Living room
shared
Broadband included
No

Current household

# roommates
2
Total # rooms
2
Ages
33 to 40
Smoker?
No
Any pets?
No
Language
English
Occupation
Professional
Gender
1 Female, 1 Male

New roommate preferences

Couples OK?
No
Smoking OK?
No
Pets OK?
Yes
Occupation
Don't mind
References?
Yes
Min age
25
Max age
50
Gender
Males or females
Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and let us know if there is any problem with this ad, for example:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
  • The ad is generic rather than for a specific available room
  • The advertiser is not a current roommate
User profile icon
Unknown
Joined SpareRoom because:
Signup for FREE
Remind me later