Skip to content

University of Minnesota results

Near University of Minnesota

Ad ref# 102298777

Please keep reading only if you are vegan, and can answer yes to ALL of these questions: Are you vegan? Are you thoughtful and kind? Are you looking to rent a room, a few blocks from the University of Minnesota in the Minneapolis Dinkytown neighborhood, in a shared house, that I am trying to, if at all possible, fill with more vegans and less non-vegans over time? Can you handle sharing a kitchen with both nice vegans and non-vegans? If you answered yes to ALL those questions, please reply if you might like this house, and if you would fit in well with the current tenants (other tenants are generally described in the paragraph down below that starts off "The other tenants are...". At this time, I respectfully request that if you are not vegan, please don't reply to this, and in any case, I wish you the best of luck in your search for a place. Thanks!

I am a tenant who lives in this house. My landlord/friend gives me a little bit of money to find acceptable new tenants whenever a room opens up here, therefore I have created this ad. I am a long time vegan, and occasional animal rights activist. So, I have recently decided it would be neat to try and get more vegan housemates, and in fact, more and more—as many as possible, over time. So if you are a vegan, I would especially encourage you to reply. We sometimes make exceptions, but we do have a tendency to rent to University of Minnesota students, often--grad students, PhD students, international students, doctoral candidates, even an occasional professor, or sometimes to other professionals who work near by. If one of those characteristics describes you, and you are also vegan, please reply!

Currently, there is a small amount of uncertainty in this house: we may have a room becoming available, now or soon, but more likely on August 1, 2023. In any case, throughout the year, usually at least 1-3 of the rooms becomes available. So if you are vegan, be sure to reply, and we can talk availability. If the availability doesn't work for you, if you want I can hang out your contact info and let you know when another room opens up.

To give you an idea of the sort of rooms that are available in this house, I will detail the two rooms that seem most likely to become available: We have 2 separate, single occupancy furnished rooms both maybe available on or after May 6, 2023, or perhaps one of them is more likely available on August 1, 2023. Please specify if you may be interested in the basement room with blue floor tiles, or the main level room next to kitchen, or either one. Different details specific to each of those 2 separate rooms will be in the following 2 paragraphs. Details applicable to both: both have a length of lease that is flexible--could be 2-3 months, or up to 1 year. Rent includes all utilities (heat, water, electricity, gas, garbage). The landlord currently voluntarily pays for the wifi (recently upgraded to fiber optic speeds) for all to use. He does ask that no one uses the wifi for bandwidth-hungry things like intensive video gaming. Both rooms come furnished with the items seen in the photos. For privacy and security, both room's doors have a deadbolt lock on them. Security deposit is equal to one month's rent.

The basement room with the blue tile floor (see photos 2nd through 7th) rents for $440 per month. The room size is 12 feet by 12 feet. It has an egress window, which is good for letting in plenty of natural light, a little bit of limited direct sun rays, and is good as an easy escape in the event of a fire. Since this is a basement room and can stay a little cooler than upper floors, the homeowner will not allow a window AC unit.

The main level room next to kitchen (see the last 6 photos) rents for $540 per month. The room size is 15 feet by 11 feet. It has a large bay window facing mostly west. The homeowner will install a window AC unit if you end up renting during June, July, and August.

The house is in the Dinkytown neighborhood on the corner of 6th St SE and 13th Ave SE--A 4 MINUTE WALK TO THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA campus. The house is also a 1 minute walk to groceries at a Target express store and several restaurants and coffee shops. It is a 2 minute walk to the 2, 3, 4, and 6 bus routes.

The other tenants are both female and male, ages varies. 3 males and a female are upstairs, a female on main floor, and 2 females, and a male in basement. Each tenant all have their own rooms. Some are students. Some are professionals. Some are more social, some are more busy. Most importantly all are kind and respectful. Words that describe the current tenants: international students from China, Japan, graduate student, PhD candidate, bio-medical engineer, art student, professor, political science, computer science, vegetarian, vegan, progressive, liberal, LGBT friendly. The house never feels crowded, as tenants tend to have different schedules.

The homeowner is a fair and reasonable gentleman. He lives nearby. He stops by the house to vacuum the hallways, keep the bathrooms reasonably clean, restock/provide dish soap, bathrooms' sink hand soap, toilet paper, empties common area garbages, mows the lawn, shovels snow, does maintenance work, and home improvement projects. He is really nice, and I consider him a friend...we like to enjoy a beer after getting some work done.

There is no driveway. Free parking is allowed on the streets surrounding the house. Parking can get crowded, but usually a parking spot can be found nearby either immediately or within a few minutes.

There is a section on the front porch for locking up your bicycle to keep it out of the rain.

Shared by all:
Kitchen: stove/oven, microwave, toaster, rice-maker, dishes, silverware, kitchen refrigerator, upstairs refrigerator, sink, cupboards, table, an upstairs bathroom (toilet, sink, bath and shower), a downstairs bathroom (toilet, sink, and shower), front and back spring through fall porch, non-coin washer in basement.

No smoking anywhere on property, no parties, no disturbing other tenants for example: loud audio (headphones are great if you like loud audio), tenants here love animals, but unfortunately no pets allowed of any kind. Tenants must abide by the kitchen rule of cleaning up and washing your own dishes right away after eating. Guests are welcomed. Overnight guests are welcomed once in a while.

This is a friendly quiet place great for reading, writing, and studying!

If interested, if you are vegan, please replay and feel free to ask me any questions, and please do share some things about yourself like what do you do and why do you want to live in the area, then perhaps I can give you a tour of the place, in person, or virtually via zoom or FaceTime! Thanks!

  • House share
  • University Of Minnesota
  • 55414
  • $440 monthly (small)
  • $540 monthly (large)


Minimum term
3 months
Maximum term
  • Short rentals considered

Extra cost

(Room 1)
(Room 2)
Utilities included?
Fees apply?


Disabled access
Living room
Broadband included

Current household

# roommates
Total # rooms
20 to 40
Any pets?
reading, food, writing, outdoors, biking, gardening, comedy, tennis, board games, socializing, relaxing, computers, studying, vegetarian
4 Females, 3 Males

New roommate preferences

Couples OK?
Smoking OK?
Pets OK?
Don't mind
Min age
Males or females

Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and if there is any problem with this ad, for example:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
  • The ad is generic rather than for a specific available room
  • The advertiser is not a current roommate
User profile icon
Joined SpareRoom because:

Register for FREE

Register via email

Register for FREE

Register via email