Walnut Creek results

$1,300 master room in 3-bedroom house MARCH 1st

Ad ref# 100646125

PLEASE READ ENTIRE DESCRIPTION!!!! I WILL NOT RESPOND TO EMAILS WITH ONLY ONE OR TWO SENTENCES. PLEASE DON'T WASTE MY TIME.

lease starts MARCH 1st. looking for one person (a couple *might* be okay, but you'd have to guarantee that your relationship is strong--not looking to bring any drama into the house; rent would fluctuate slightly if a couple moved in to even everything out) to rent available room. master room with attached full bathroom. looking for people in their 20's or 30's with jobs--must provide proof of stable income and pass a credit check (~$20, i believe). preferably capable students or young professionals who are clean and responsible. no pets (excluding *licensed* service animals, of course), no minors, no drugs--no chemical dependencies of any kind (alcohol included!) will be tolerated), no crazy house parties. overnight guests are okay, but within reason. my previous housemates and i had an agreement that anything over 2 nights/week and the guests help out with rent and utilities, but we can discuss that later.

looking to set up a 6-month or a 1-year lease, depending on applicants. we'd be able to start out with 6 months and extend if we all got along and wanted to continue.

full rent was quoted at $1,300 for the master as a single, but there is a small chance that it'll be raised. you'll also be responsible for one month's rent for the security deposit.

utilities (garbage, water, electricity) on rent average about $50/month per person, but they are split equally between the tenants and the landlord who lives in the converted studio garage. he's rarely home and the most interaction we have with him is when he's getting in/leaving for work. (honestly, i see him maybe once every two or three weeks.) wifi is separate, but it's about $15/person each month, again, depending on number of occupants...

massive backyard, private drive with plenty of street parking, private entrance, fully stocked kitchen (most necessary appliances) with granite counters and tile, gas stove, dishwasher, hardwood floors throughout the house, partially furnished living room (furniture added after photos were taken)--but definitely open to more/newer/better if you have it, washer and dryer for us tenants (landlord has separate unit in his studio), about ~1 mile to both wc and ph bart locations, two blocks from local park, community swimming pool that was just redone, sand volleyball courts, tennis and basketball courts, and very close to the 24-hour super sport, sprouts, walgreens, and safeway down the road.

about me: born and raised in england (still have a pretty thick accent). heavily involved in gymnastics most of my life, so i'm a very active guy. came to the states a few years ago for uni. went to juilliard in nyc. music is a huge passion of mine. i play a lot of instruments and sing, but i currently only have a piano (digital--easier to move around) and guitar, so i don't take up much space. i moved to colorado shortly after juilliard because i was diagnosed with cancer and underwent treatments there along with a few sporadic trips to md anderson in texas and mayo clinic in minnesota. finished up treatments about three years ago and decided i wanted a fresh start. moved out to walnut creek with a mate--who has since gotten a boyfriend and moved on with her life--and started over. i own my own business runing a fairly exclusive mentorship programme geared toward business and finacial development--and do fairly well for myself. i'm bisexual and have been dating a great guy, also bi, for over a year and a half now. (please be lgbtq friendly.) he lives in berkeley, but we do randomly spend a night at each other's here and there. love to make music and hang out with friends. i'm not into house parties, but i love movie marathons and game nights with mates. love going exploring in new cities and hiking. anything that gets my blood pumping. i'm a big cooker/baker (mum was a gourmet pastry chef), so i spend a decent amount of time in the kitchen, and i was always taught to clean as i go and i hate leaving messes. probably the pickiest thing about me is that i like having the dishwasher loaded in an efficient way and that i have a few pans and knives that i don't let anyone use because they're rather expensive and have to be cleaned (or not cleaned, if it's seasoned) a certain way. oh, and the toilet lid has to be done before you flush. (cancer kind of made me a tiny germaphobe. lol.) i know it sounds weird, but that's probably the most extreme thing about me. i'm very laid back and mellow and incredibly sociable. i get along with pretty much everyone, but struggle with people who aren't open to views/ideas/opinions outside of their own or take advantage of others without remorse.

about my housemate, dc: (he wrote this is the third person...) He's a born n' raised Texan that's been in California since 2014. He has a passion for acting and modelling, animals, and public speaking. He is a goofball in all the best ways. Much like me (he's talking about me, the writer of this post, haha), he is extremely sociable and gets along with anyone he meets (especially if they have pup). He is tidy and very respectful of common areas. He's been such a great addition to the household since moving in last April. He lives in the smaller of the 3 bedrooms in the house. He works full-time and also enjoys waking dogs on the side (so he can get his pup fix lol) We two have developed a great bond and friendship. We truly hope the next addition will be just as successful in developing and maintaining the family atmosphere that's been established here. We, individually, are considerate, passionate, hardworking people with a zeal for life.

ABOUT YOU: tell me about yourself. please include what you're like as a housemate, what you do for a living, hobbies/passions, what you're looking for in a new home and in potential housemates, and a link to social media so i know you're not scamming/spamming me. include a phone number that i can text you at if i have any other questions and/or to set up a meeting to see the house and get to know each other a bit more.

i'd love to live with people who are actually open to being friends, even if it's just randomly eating together and watching telly here and there. i want to live in a home where we all feel comfortable and safe. the less stress and drama the better! gender and orientation mean nothing to me; i just want people who are clean, responsible, respectful, honest, trustworthy, and have values and principles in line with my own. i like my relationships to be intentional and profitable to everyone involved.

  • House share
  • Walnut Creek
  • 94597
  • $1,300 monthly (double/private bathroom)

Availability

Available
Now
Minimum term
6 months
Maximum term
None

Extra cost

Deposit
$1,300.00
Utilities included?
No
Fees apply?
No

Amenities

Parking
Yes
Garage
No
Garden/terrace
Yes
Balcony/Patio
Yes
Disabled access
No
Living room
shared
Broadband included
No

Current household

# roommates
2
Total # rooms
3
Ages
20 to 32
Smoker?
No
Any pets?
No
Language
English
Nationality
English
Occupation
Professional
Gender
2 Males

New roommate preferences

Couples OK?
Yes
Smoking OK?
No
Pets OK?
No
Occupation
Don't mind
References?
No
Min age
20
Max age
42
Gender
Males or females
Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and let us know if there is any problem with this ad, for example:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
  • The ad is generic rather than for a specific available room
  • The advertiser is not a current roommate
Unknown
Joined SpareRoom because:
Signup for FREE
Sign up with email Remind me later