Skip to content

Baldwin Park results

Sunny Private Furnished Room Available Aug 1, 22

Ad ref# 102203225

*** APPLICATION PENDING! ***

Hey folks,

I’m looking for an awesome person(s) to fill a vacancy at Casa Hendie. I'm NOT just looking to rent a room.

Casa Hendie is a 4 bedroom house located in the hub of the San Gabriel Valley -- Baldwin Park (91706) -- located in Los Angeles County.

It’s important to note that the current/former housemates at Casa Hendie were brought together by the Couchsurfing community, so we're big on trust, karma, generosity, cultural exchange, inclusion and communication.

In that spirit, I’m looking to continue fostering an intentional living-type community household -- a place that is a safe haven and a space for mutually supporting one another. A place filled with open-minded, creative, fun-loving, responsible and respectful people.

If this sounds like the type of living environment you are looking for, please read on!

=== * DETAILS, DETAILS, DETAILS * ===

THE ROOM: I currently have a sunny, furnished 130 sq ft (12 sq meter) bedroom with a full size bed, desk, dresser, window A/C and closet.

AVAILABLE: August 1, 2022.

RENT / DEPOSIT: $800/month with a $400 deposit for one person. $1000/month with a $500 deposit for two people.

THE HOUSE: has 4 bedrooms, 2 shared bathrooms, a living room, a den/family room, a fully-equipped kitchen, a washer/dryer, ceiling fans, window A/C's, a yard, patio, BBQ, fire pit and in yard bicycle parking. If you have a car, street parking is readily available and in-yard parking can sometimes be accommodated.

THE HOUSEMATES: We are an international and LGBTQIA+ friendly bunch. Housemates have ranged in age from 20's to 40's and have included a cancer researcher, a virologist, a private teacher, a technology director, a software engineer for NASA/JPL, actors, writers, and me -- the homeowner There are currently 3 housemates and 2 adorable and well trained small dogs in the household.

THE NEIGHBORHOOD: is very walkable with 4 grocery stores, 2 drug stores, several eateries, banks, a Starbucks, a park (with workout equipment and a pool), the post office and several bus lines all within a 7-15 minute walk. The Metrolink (train) is a 15-20 minute walk from the house (and will get you to DTLA/Union Station in 3 stops). Target, Walmart, the West Covina Mall and the Original In N Out Burger can all be reached with a 7-15 minute drive or bike ride.

LOCATION: Conveniently located near the 605, 10 and 210 freeways. Within a 7-15 mile radius of several colleges (Mt Sac, Cal Poly, Rio Hondo, Citrus, Azusa Pacific, Cal State LA, La Verne, PCC, Caltech) and hospitals (City of Hope, Kaiser, Emanate Health, Arcadia Methodist, etc.).

About a 20 minute drive to Pasadena (12mi/19km) or DTLA (17mi/27km); a 35 minute drive to Hollywood (23mi/37km) or Disneyland (24mi/38km); and a 45 minute drive to Santa Monica, Venice or Huntington Beach (35mi/56km) -- depending on traffic.

= = = * WHAT'S INCLUDED IN THE RENT? * = = =

Utilities, WiFi, Netflix and other streaming sites, as well as toilet paper, paper towels, dish soap, hand soap, natural household cleaning supplies and a monthly house cleaning service. Use of common areas and the washer/dryer. We also have a shared food shelf to aid in your culinary creations. Bedding and towels are available, if needed. Now, if you use a lot of something, you'll be asked to get your own. And even though there is a cleaning service, everyone must ALWAYS clean up after themselves PROMPTLY, and share in cleaning of common areas. Conserving resources and not being wasteful is expected.

=== * HOW THIS WORKS * ===

If you’re interested in the room, please start by sending me a message telling me a bit about yourself (hobbies, interests, TV binges, a funny story or something, etc.). Please include what you do for a living, how long you’ve been doing it and if it’s remote. Tell me why you are looking for a room, when you’d like to move in, and why you think you’d be a good fit at Casa Hendie. And perhaps a social media link or two (if that’s your thing).

If you answered my questions above and seem like you might be a good fit for Casa Hendie, then I will respond with some follow up questions and basic move in info. After that, we can arrange a virtual or in-person tour of the room and house.

If you’re still with us, note that there will be a background/credit check. You pay for it (est. US $30) and have the results sent directly to me.

Finally, I have a standard room rental agreement for you to review/sign before you start. And I also have a household information and etiquette guide that you will be expected to read, understand and abide by.


=== *** IMPORTANT CONDITIONS! *** ===

> MUST be fully vaccinated against Covid-19!
> MUST have stable and verifiable income!
> MUST be organized and clean up after yourself.
> MUST be aware and considerate of the spatial constraints of sharing a home with others.
> Guests occasionally welcome with prior and proper notice
X NON-smokers only! NO cigarettes, e-cigarettes, cigars, vaping, etc (However, 420-friendly).
X NO, NO, NO CATS! Dogs (and other pets) on a case-by-case basis with additional deposit.

Phew! That was a lot of info!

But it's extremely important that we find a person(s) who meshes well. Again, I'm not just looking to rent a room.

Thanks for reading my ad! I’m really looking forward to hearing from you!

Cheers,
Caitlan

Note: the video is a bit outdated - the bathroom has been completely remodeled (see pic), some areas have been painted and furniture has been rearranged, but it should give you a general idea.

  • House share
  • Baldwin Park
  • 91706
  • $800 monthly (large)

Availability

Available
Now
Minimum term
3 months
Maximum term
None

Extra cost

Deposit
$400.00
Utilities included?
Yes
Fees apply?
No

Amenities

Furnishings
Furnished
Parking
Yes
Garage
No
Garden/terrace
Yes
Balcony/patio
Yes
Disabled access
No
Living room
shared
Broadband included
Yes

Current household

# roommates
3
Total # rooms
4
Smoker?
No
Any pets?
Yes
Language
English
Occupation
Professional
Interests
music, travelling, hiking, yoga, biking, culture, social justice, game nights, community, sustainability, good conversation, helping others, sociology, nerdy stuff, anthropology
Gender
2 Females, 1 Male

New roommate preferences

Couples OK?
Yes
Smoking OK?
No
Pets OK?
Yes
Occupation
Don't mind
References?
Yes
Min age
20
Max age
80
Gender
Males or females

Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and if there is any problem with this ad, for example:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
  • The ad is generic rather than for a specific available room
  • The advertiser is not a resident landlord
User profile icon
Unknown
Joined SpareRoom because:

Register for FREE

Register via email

Register for FREE

Register via email