Chinatown results

Room in conveniently-located shared household

Ad ref# 102085064

The room:
Large room with white walls, high ceilings, one large closet, and one window. Room for a Full or Queen size bed. Good wifi. This room doesn’t have much sunlight. We’re sandwiched against the neighbor’s house, but it stays very cool during the summer.

The house:
Formally known as Alice Palace, you could say it’s an old-style Victorian house. We’re located in Oakland Chinatown, a 6-minute walk to the Lake Merritt BART station, a 5-minute walk to Downtown, 10 minutes to Jack London Square, and 15 minutes to the lake. There is AC Transit all around, the 18, 62, 51A, 51B, and the 88. We’re also right next to the Webster tube connecting Alameda to Oakland. Inside our house, we have a living room, kitchen, 1.5 bathrooms, 4 bedrooms. Much of the house was newly renovated just before we moved in 2 years ago. We have a back patio with a wooden table and garden. Free street parking is available. Washing machine + drying rack in house.

The numbers:
Rent: $850 a month
Internet: $18 a month
PG&E: $50-$85 a month
Water: $60 per quarter
Waste Management: $32.95 per quarter
Security deposit: $1000

Who we are:

Working professionals in our late twenties and one feline.

Dar (she/her): Latinx vegan who is a full-time student and employee. Usually a very approachable person who likes to talk and share stories. Strong personality and strong sense of justice. Vaccinated.

Spencer (he/him): Queer guy who loves nature, animals, and dumb jokes. Very into puzzles of jigsaw and algorithmic varieties. Would probably participate in board games but can’t make any plant-related promises. Will be vaccinated once eligible.

Sara (she/her): A basic white vegan lady who works at a children’s literacy nonprofit. Will play a board game with you and probably give you plants. Getting vaccinated soon.

Rio the cat (almost 4): loves sleeping, meowing, and watching the neighborhood from the front window.

Who we are looking for?

A single occupant who’s also in their late 20s/early 30s. That person must be down-to-earth, communicative, and flexible. We need someone to be a team player in our household and someone who works well with others. This person must be mindful, respectful, aware, and socially progressive. This is an LGBTQ+ household, but you do not necessarily need to be. You must (absolutely) follow COVID safety guidelines and social distancing (if we proceed further with you we will go over this in the Roommate Agreement which is a completely separate contract). You also MUST LOVE CATS!!! There is no pettiness, no cattiness, no toxic behaviors from you or your guests. and no party animals allowed.

Requirements from the landlords:
Application including:
Credit and background check
Proof of income
Commitment to stay for 6 months

Once you have read this entire post you must pick out one sentence that stood out to you or something you appreciate about our post. That way we know that you’re genuinely reading this ad. Please leave your name, email, IG or FB (Even Tiktok!) and a short bio about who you are and what kind of people you are looking to live with. Feel free to tell us about your goals in life, your favorite place to eat, what you went to school for, or if you’re in the process now- please share that with us.

Application steps:
1. Phone or video screening with one of us + virtual walkthrough.
2. Interview with all roommates via Zoom.
3. Send an application to our landlord, then you can come to see the space in person if you want to.
4. If accepted by the landlord, submit your deposit and 1st month’s rent.

  • Apartment share
  • Chinatown
  • 94607
  • $850 monthly (large)

Availability

Available
Now
Minimum term
None
Maximum term
None

Extra cost

Deposit
$1,000.00
Utilities included?
No

Amenities

Furnishings
Unfurnished
Parking
Yes
Garden/terrace
Yes
Disabled access
Living room
shared
Broadband included
Yes

Current household

# roommates
3
Total # rooms
4
Ages
28 to 29
Smoker?
No
Any pets?
Yes
Gender
2 Females, 1 Male

New roommate preferences

Couples OK?
No
Smoking OK?
No
Pets OK?
No
Occupation
Don't mind
References?
Yes
Min age
24
Max age
39
Gender
Males or females
Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and let us know if there is any problem with this ad, for example:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
  • The ad is generic rather than for a specific available room
  • The advertiser is not a current roommate

COVID-19 - how it affects renting

User profile icon
Unknown
Joined SpareRoom because:

Register for FREE

Register via email Remind me later

Register for FREE

Register via email