Skip to content

Looking for anything in the LA area

Ad ref# 102310131

Hi. My name is Phil and I’m a 35 year old immigrant from Germany. I have a Greencard, and have lived and worked in Long Beach, CA for the last 10 years. This spring, my last job ended when the video store I managed finally disappeared (I say ‘disappeared‘ because it was such a long process, it almost feels to me like it literally faded away over the years), and around the same time the lease expired on my roommate situation, figuratively.

I took all that to be a sign; an opportunity to start once again, again. So I spent the last month putting all my stuff in storage, and now I’m on a mini vacation to regroup and figure out my next steps.

Problem is, I have neither job nor place right now, and all the research I’ve done so far suggests it hardly possible to get one without the other. And I don’t want to just jump into the next job or roommate situation that I come across (I’ve had my fair share of bad ones).

The good thing is that I have only a bag and a backpack right now, and nothing to hold me at any particular place. I worked almost full time (as the only employee) at the video store from 2020-2022 and saved up most of that money. I have references and am willing to pay a few months in advance, if that means that I can spend more time figuring out exactly what I want to do with my life. I’m not looking for much; a room with a door I can close behind me, so I can finish that novel I’ve been working on since 2018. A shack with electricity and running water would be more than what I lived in for most of 2020 and 2021, and while I know that with time and age I should maybe demand a little more for myself, right now I really just need a home base; something I can go job hunting from. The one thing I need, however, is Southern California. I’ve fallen in love with the place and wouldn’t know what to do if I had to leave. I don’t have a car, but I do have a license, and if there’s space to park a bicycle, I will make it work. I also was a busboy for two years, so I know how to keep a place clean. I’m not big into smoking and drinking, although I don’t mind others doing it. I won’t leave dishes in the sink or hairs in the drain. I make a delicious rum banana hot sauce, bake my own bread and squeeze my own ginger shot (and I will share all of those goodies, as well as my extensive digital movie collection).

My budget would be around $900, and I don’t have a preferred location. Just some considerate roommates would be nice. I’d like to move by July 1st, but I’m prepared to be realistic.

  • Phil
  • 35, male
  • Small or large wanted

Total budget: $800 monthly


Available now
Minimum term
Maximum term

Looking in

  • Anaheim
  • Central Los Angeles
  • Northeast Los Angeles
  • Orange
  • South Los Angeles
  • Southeast Los Angeles

Amenities required

  • internet

About me

Any pets?
reading, films, travelling, food, writing, running, gardening

New household preferences

Smokers OK?
Pets OK?
Don't mind
No preference specified

Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and if there is any problem with this ad, for example:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
User profile icon
Joined SpareRoom because:

Register for FREE

Register via email