Room in a cat-friendly living space

Ad ref# 101282950

Hi! I’m looking to rent a room in either a house or apartment with up to 2 roommates. I’m fairly quiet as a person, though I do enjoy listening to music and podcasts while cooking and cleaning. I cook in bulk on the weekends and eat my leftovers through the week. I clean my messes while I cook, and hope my roommates will, too. I’m open to communal cooking and sharing meals, if and when our schedules allow. I do my best to keep the common areas of my home free from my mess, and hope you do the same, within reason.
I’m happy to share food items that would otherwise be duplicates, like condiments, seasonings, and anything dry goods we can buy in bulk, provided the person who uses the last bit buys the replacement.
I prefer to have a weekly chore chart for cleaning common areas.
Monthly and/or as needed roommate meetings are helpful for making sure I keep direct communication open.
I have overnight guests occasionally, usually friends who are visiting for a night or two during the weekend.
I usually wake up between 6am-8am (and use a blender to make a smoothie if the noise doesn’t bother my roommates), and go to bed between 9pm-10pm, though occasionally I’ll stay up, as quietly as possible, until 11:30pm. I’m a moderate sleeper, so quiet in any common space next to mine after 10pm on weeknights is very much desired. I snore a little, but I’ve never had a roommate complain about how loud my snoring is.

I have a cat (as I mentioned in the title:-)) who is a friendly introvert. She is a little shy and scared of new people in new situations, but she warms up fairly quickly. She does best with no other pets, though I’m happy to work together to find a way she can coexist with another cat. I’m not willing to have her live with a dog, of any size. I just ask that I can let her have free reign of the common areas at least when I’m home. As long as she has full time free reign, I’m content with a smaller bedroom. If we decide we should keep her in my bedroom while I’m out to accommodate other cats, then she and I need a big room.

I know that’s a lot, but I want to be open and upfront with my needs and expectations up front to give potential roommates the best idea of if we’re compatible and can live together peacefully. I’m usually a pretty friendly, if anxious, person, but lack of communication and boundaries changing has been a difficult lesson learned for me.

  • Justine
  • 32, female
  • Small or large room wanted

Total budget: $600 monthly

Availability

Available
Now
Minimum term
6 months
Maximum term
18 months

Looking in

  • Bushwick
  • East Williamsburg
  • Hoboken & Jersey City
  • Middlesex county
  • Monmouth county
  • Ocean county
  • Williamsburg

Amenities required

About me

Age
32
Smoker?
No
Any pets?
Yes
Occupation
Other
Gender
Female

New household preferences

Smokers OK?
Yes
Pets OK?
Yes
Occupation
Don't mind
Min age
22
Max age
46
Gender
Males or females
Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and let us know if there is any problem with this ad, for example:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
User profile icon
Unknown
Joined SpareRoom because:

Register for FREE

Register via email Remind me later