25 y/o Student looking for long term accomodation.

Ad ref# 100414534

zoom
Student ID

I've just started a two year graduate degree in lyric/play writing at NYU. I'm looking for a room with ac that I can come back to after class and relax- so ideally not a loud flat. I'm your average british guy. I'll pay my rent on time and clean up after myself. Ideally there would be a laundromat nearby, an affordable gym, a café or two, and a few cheap, quick, not-to-unhealthy eating places like deli sandwiches or a local diner. I'm hoping the commute would be 30mins or less from the front door to West 4th, 8st NYU, or Astor place. I use the bathroom about 15-20 mins in the morn, and 20 mins before bed (to shower). Occasional late nights (if I'm seeing a show), but will settle to somewhat of a regular 8am- 8pm week days.

Ideal flat mates would be some other average guys, but open to living with anyone generally considerate and easy-going. I'd be up for occasionally going to a local bar for a drink and game of pool. Hoping the room would be furnished with at least a bed- the firmer the mattress the better, and a desk.

I've come over from Edinburgh, UK where I studied Classical Civilizations for my undergrad. After graduating, I was active as a musician in Edinburgh getting paid to play/sing live music in bars (part-time) as well as some originals at local music venues on occasion. I also gave private guitar lessons around town for several months to kids, students and pensioners, and then took on a training position as a music director at a contemporary church- which turned out wasn't for me. I was also an Airbnb host for a family-owned property for couple of months. Being a late applicant to the masters course here in NY- its been a hectic few months and I'm still getting my bearings. I grew up in London and have an English accent, though my blood is half Chinese/half Scottish.

I'd be most comfortable in a flat with 20s - 30s students/professionals, but If any families or couples beyond that age range have a room available, please do also get in touch.
-Oliver

  • Oliver
  • 25, male student
  • Small or large room wanted

Total budget: $1,200 monthly

Availability

Available
Now
Minimum term
6 months
Maximum term
18 months

Looking in

  • Chelsea & Clinton (Midtown West)
  • East Harlem
  • East Village, Lower East Side & Chinatown
  • Financial District & Tribeca
  • Gramercy Park, Murray Hill & Turtle Bay (Midtown East)
  • Greenwich Village & Soho
  • Harlem
  • Hoboken & Jersey City
  • Morningside Heights & Hamilton Heights
  • Upper East Side & Yorkville
  • Upper West Side

Amenities required

  • furnished room

About me

Age
25
Smoker?
No
Any pets?
No
Language
English
Nationality
British
Occupation
Student
University
NYU (New York University)
Interests
Songwriting, Studying, Parks, Guitar, Old Country Music, Poetry, Novels, Writing, Pool, Rugby (fan), Gym, Christianity.
Gender
Male

New household preferences

Smokers OK?
No
Pets OK?
No
Occupation
Don't mind
Min age
20
Max age
38
Gender
Male preferred
Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and let us know if there is any problem with this ad, for example:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
User profile icon
Unknown
Joined SpareRoom because:

Register for FREE

Register via email Remind me later