Student taking time off looking for a place

Ad ref# 101160082

I’m a Columbia student taking a year off. I’m from NYC, I currently live at home with my parents but am looking to move out. I work a part time job at Walgreens as well as work at Prep for Prep and tutor and am trying to save up for college because that's™s expensive haha. Okay maybe not the best place to joke. ANYWAY. It would in theory be a long-term thing, hopefully for my remaining 3 years of college, but doesn’t have to be.
I’m neat, clean, and organized, unless I’m super tired in which case I may not be. I don’t snore or have nighttime terrors. I’m not home most of the time, I’m working or doing something, but when I am I tend to stick to myself and stay in my room. I do like to play music when I cook or clean, but that’s not necessary if my music bothers you I can just put on my headphones. I can cook a few dishes, but cannot bake for the life of me unless it’s out of a box.
In terms of roommates, I’d like someone who is not super loud or rude. Maybe another student if possible but not necessary at all. Just someone moderately clean and organized and who won’t kill me in my sleep or try on my underwear when I’m out.
One last thing, I do have a boyfriend. If this is an issue, he does not ever actually have to step foot into the apartment or space unless you are comfortable with it, he also lives in NYC but he is going back to school in the fall and I’m always at his place as it stands anyway.
If you might consider me staying in your space please contact me as soon as possible. I am trying to leave my home because my parents are toxic and I cannot continue in this environment.

  • Melissa
  • 19, female student
  • Small or large room wanted

Total budget: $600 monthly


Minimum term
6 months
Maximum term
36 months

Looking in

  • East Harlem
  • Harlem
  • Morningside Heights & Hamilton Heights
  • Queens
  • Roosevelt Island
  • The Bronx
  • Upper East Side & Yorkville
  • Upper West Side
  • Washington Heights & Inwood

Amenities required

  • furnished room
  • shared living room

About me

Any pets?
Columbia University in the City of New York
Astronomy, museums and planetariums, reading, and Netflix

New household preferences

Smokers OK?
Pets OK?
Don't mind
Min age
Max age
Males or females
Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and let us know if there is any problem with this ad, for example:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
User profile icon
Joined SpareRoom because:

Register for FREE

Register via email Remind me later