Skip to content

Furnished bedroom for cat lovers available 11/5/22

Ad ref# 102212609

Photo 1: Sunny bedroom has windows  w/awnings facing south & east zoom
Sunny bedroom has windows w/awnings facing south & east

▀ Available 4/1/2023 or later
▀ Monthly rent: $1025 ($1325 for a couple)
▀ Includes fast Wi-Fi, basic cable tv, utilities, monthly housekeeper, shared kitchen & bath, access to laundry room & patio
▀ Security deposit: $1000 ($500 for short-term stays of 3 months or less)
▀ Two indoor-only cats live here. Other pets can be considered. (Read below.)

For rent is a large (169 square feet), clean, furnished bedroom with a shared kitchen and bathroom. I am both the homeowner and your potential roommate. My living space is in the front of the house and yours is in the back. The side-door to the house (used as the main entry) and the kitchen and bathroom are in between us, so we both have a lot of privacy.

Please read the information here and message me if you are interested in learning more about me or the space. I am happy to set up a video call to chat. I can meet/show the room in Dec and Jan for an April 1 move-in date. (I am out of the country in Feb and Mar.)

Some information it would be nice to know if it is not in your profile:
▀ Where are you living now and why do you want to move?
▀ What do you do for a living or what do you study if you are a student?
▀ What is a typical day like for you? What are your interests/hobbies?
▀ Do you have a pet? Tell me about them. Do you have experience living with cats?
▀ Is there anything important about your living space that you would like me to know or to ask about?

The large sunny bedroom has wood floors and area rugs, a queen size bed, TV w/basic cable, ceiling fan, a small book shelf, and an armoire, along with a walk-in closet. There is also a cafe table in your room for eating (plus an outdoor table on the back patio) because the kitchen does not have space for dining.

▀ During Summer, your room is quite hot and the large windows behind the bed do not open. If warm temps without AC is not comfortable to you, this is not the room for you.
▀ Bedding for your queen sized bed -- which you can use, of course -- is stored in your closet. There is still plenty of space for your own stuff.

The shared kitchen has a stove/oven, fridge, microwave, air fryer/toaster oven, and drip coffee pot and it is fully stocked with dishes, pots and pans, etc. There is plenty of space for your food and a few kitchen items. There is NO DISHWASHER and NO DINING TABLE which is why there is a cafe table in your room.

The bathroom is small, clean and shabby chic with plenty of room for your toiletries. The common laundry room with washer and dryer is shared with my brother and his wife who own the completely separate, adjacent duplex unit. The laundry room is available for you to use and is accessed by walking outside, across the back patio, and into the laundry room just before the entry to their side of the duplex.

The driveway in the back of the house has been turned into a PATIO with plants, a gas bbq grill, a table with umbrella and chairs, a chaise lounge, and a wood-burning metal fire pit. The patio is also shared with my brother and his wife who live in the adjacent duplex. There is a locked bike shed and we can make space for 1 more bike if you have one.

___ABOUT ME___
I am 58 years old and work from home as a consultant for social justice nonprofit organizations. I enjoy reading, theater, music, history, politics, film, travel and animal rescue. Although I am home a lot, I travel frequently, sometimes for months at a time.

I co-own the house with my brother and his wife who occupy the separate unit next door. Raven works at Kaiser and Joe is a semi-retired programmer. We strive to create a serene, drama-free home where my roommate feels truly welcome and at ease. Our politics are liberal and we are LGBTQI friendly. With that said, there are a few "rules" that will not work for everyone:

>No smoking cigarettes or anything else anywhere on the property.
>No drugs, no parties.
>Be considerate of our neighbors (reasonable noise etc.)
>Cats must NEVER go outdoors.
>Let's talk about overnight guests, as needed.

There are 2 indoor-only rescue cats on the premises and so cat lovers are especially welcome. It may be possible for you to have an indoor-only cat (or senior dog) who would be happy contained in your spacious bedroom, but we need to talk details as one of my cats has a chronic herpes virus which is contagious for other cats.

We are in the Golden Gate neighborhood of Oakland on the borders of West Berkeley and Emeryville and just across the Bay to San Francisco. This is a diverse community well into the wave of gentrification that is spilling over from San Francisco. The neighbors are friendly.

The front of the house (my living area) faces a busy street with traffic noise but your bedroom is in the back, facing a side street. Overall, this is a safe area, to the degree that any place is safe. People who are accustomed to urban living and have basic street smarts will feel comfortable here.

A short walk, bike or bus ride away you will discover wonderful amenities, including supermarkets, restaurants, parks, museums, theaters and music venues.

If you have a car, there is plenty of free street parking available. The Ashby BART station is 1 mile away and then it is just 1 stop to downtown Berkeley, 3 stops to downtown Oakland and 6 stops to downtown San Francisco. We have a very good bus system (AC Transit) with several routes within a few blocks (72, 72R, 88, 18, 12 & F). The 72R is an express to Jack London Square and the F is an express into San Francisco. Biking is also a great way to get around. We're right off all the major highways connecting you to the rest of the Bay Area. The Emeryville Amtrak Station is 1 mile away.

  • House share
  • Golden Gate
  • 94608
  • $1,025 monthly (large)


01 Apr 2023
Minimum term
1 month
Maximum term
  • Short rentals considered

Extra cost

Utilities included?
Fees apply?


Disabled access
Living room
Broadband included

Current household

# roommates
Total # rooms
Any pets?

New roommate preferences

Couples OK?
Smoking OK?
Pets OK?
Don't mind
Min age
Max age
Males or females

Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and if there is any problem with this ad, for example:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
  • The ad is generic rather than for a specific available room
  • The advertiser is not a resident landlord
User profile icon
Joined SpareRoom because:

Register for FREE

Register via email

Register for FREE

Register via email